Mehmet Akif Ersoy University , Burdur, Turkey

Mehmet Akif Ersoy University was founded by law on 17 March 2006 and the number 5467 published in the official newspaper in the issue 26111. Burdur Education Faculty, Burdur School of Health, Burdur Vocational School, Bucak Hikmet Tolunay Vocational School, Gölhisar Vocational School, Bucak Emin Gülmez Technical Science Vocational School, and Ağlasun Vocational School were connected to Suleyman Demirel University and Burdur Veterinary Faculty was connected to Akdeniz University which were then transferred to Mehmet Akif Ersoy University. The Faculty of Letters, Institutes of Social Sciences, Science and Technology, Health Sciences were founded by the same law.


Continuing Education Research and Application Centre , Strategic Researches Application and Research Centre, Teke Location Folk Culture Application and Research Centre, and Mehmet Akif Ersoy Application and Research Centre,  which were planned to be active in different science fields within our university, were also founded.  In addition to the Research and Application Centres, Ataturk’s Principles and History of Turkish Revolution Department, Physical Education and Sports Department, Informatics Department, Fine Arts Department, Turkish Language Department and Foreign Languages Department are active within the rectorship.


Most of the students at MAEU come from Turkey. They originate from all over the country, but very few, at present, are from abroad. Students usually enter the University after 12 years of education (4 years each of primary, secondary and high school). Following the completion of two examinations and an assessment of their school grade points average, they can apply for university. The specific qualification requirements of the department involved in the Erasmus Partnership are that students had maths and science as their major subjects at high school and that they obtained sufficient points from the verbal maths and science parts of the examinations.


Mehmet Akif Ersoy University includes 3 institutions which have graduate training programmes, 3 faculties and 2 higher schools which have undergraduate training programs, and 6 vocational schools, 4 research centres, 9 coordinator departments including Scientific Research Projects, Academician Training Programme, Co-Ordination of Project and Consultation, International Relations Office.  There are 6 departments connected to the rectorship, with 14,991 students and 758 staff, which makes Mehmet Akif Ersoy University a significant foundation among other universities. Furthermore, the university has been continually progressing owing to its qualifications in education, research projects and scientific studies.



The expertise, which has been made available to the Partnership, is ideally suited its needs and the University will lead and support all academic endeavour.

Last modified: Monday, 16 January 2017, 3:05 PM